Skip to main content

Miklos Rozsa (Composer)

Born: 18th April 1907, Budapest, Hungary

Died: 27th July 1995, Los Angeles, California, U.S.A

Nationality: American, Hungarian

Miklós Rózsa was a Hungarian-American composer trained in Germany (1925–1931) and active in France (1931–1935), the United Kingdom (1935–1940), and the United States (1940–1995), with extensive sojourns in Italy from 1953 onward. Best known for his nearly one hundred film scores, he nevertheless maintained a steadfast allegiance to absolute concert music throughout what he called his "double life".

Rózsa achieved early success in Europe with his orchestral Theme, Variations, and Finale (Op. 13) of 1933, and became prominent in the film industry from such early scores as The Four Feathers (1939) and The Thief of Bagdad (1940). The latter project brought him to America when production was transferred from wartime Britain, and Rózsa remained in the United States, becoming an American citizen in 1946.

Popular Works: Rozsa

All Works: Rozsa

Recent Best Sellers: Rozsa

New Releases: Rozsa

Future Releases: Rozsa