Skip to main content
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (Composer)

Born: 27th January 1756, Salzburg

Died: 5th December 1791, Vienna

Nationality: Austrian

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart baptised as Johannes Chrysostomus Wolfgangus Theophilus Mozart, was a prolific and influential composer of the Classical period.

Born in Salzburg, in the Holy Roman Empire, Mozart showed prodigious ability from his earliest childhood. Already competent on keyboard and violin, he composed from the age of five and performed before European royalty, embarking on a grand tour. At 17, Mozart was engaged as a musician at the Salzburg court but grew restless and travelled in search of a better position.

While visiting Vienna in 1781, he was dismissed from his Salzburg position.

Further Reading: Mozart

Interview, Maxim Emelyanychev on Mozart

In the wake of the second instalment of his Mozart symphonies series with Il Pomo d'Oro, the Russian conductor and harpsichordist recounts how he fell under the composer's spell aged four - and was thrown in at the deep end to conduct the Overture to Le nozze di Figaro just eight years later...

Presto Music Classical Podcast, Episode 36: I've Started, So I'll Finish – A Return to Mozart with Robert Levin

Pianist, conductor, musicologist and Mozart reconstructionist Robert Levin talks about the resumption of his complete survey of Mozart's works for keyboard and orchestra.

Popular Genres: Mozart

Popular Works: Mozart

All Works: Mozart

Recent Best Sellers: Mozart

New Releases: Mozart

Future Releases: Mozart