Skip to main content
  • Trust pilot, 4 point 5 stars.
  • WORLDWIDE shipping

  • FREE UK delivery over £35


Anssi Karttunen

Anssi Karttunen

Born: 1960

Nationality: Finnish

Artist's website:

Anssi Karttunen is a Finnish cellist.

Karttunen's repertoire ranges from the early baroque to living composers and improvisation. He has performed with many orchestras in Europe, Asia, and the Americas, including the Philharmonia, BBC Symphony, Orchestre de Paris, Filarmonica della Scala, RAI Torino, Munich Philharmonic, Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra, NHK Orchestra, Tokyo Symphony, Shanghai Symphony, Hong Kong Sinfonietta, Boston Symphony, Philadelphia Orchestra, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Simón Bolívar Symphony Orchestra, and Filarmónica de Buenos Aires, and at major festivals worldwide.

Karttunen has given world premieres of over 200 works, among them 31 for cello and orchestra. Many composers have dedicated works to him, including Luca Francesconi, Magnus Lindberg, Kaija Saariaho, Esa-Pekka Salonen, Tan Dun, Rolf Wallin, Pascal Dusapin, Fred Lerdahl (Arches), and Betsy Jolas.

Recent Best Sellers: Anssi Karttunen