Skip to main content
Krzysztof Penderecki

Krzysztof Penderecki (Conductor)

Born: 23rd November 1933, Debica, Poland

Died: 29th March 2020, Krakow, Poland

Nationality: Polish

Krzysztof Eugeniusz Penderecki was a Polish composer and conductor. His best known works include Threnody to the Victims of Hiroshima, Symphony No. 3, his St Luke Passion, Polish Requiem, Anaklasis and Utrenja. Penderecki's oeuvre includes four operas, eight symphonies and other orchestral pieces, a variety of instrumental concertos, choral settings of mainly religious texts, as well as chamber and instrumental works.

Born in Dębica, Penderecki studied music at Jagiellonian University and the Academy of Music in Kraków. After graduating from the Academy, he became a teacher there and began his career as a composer in 1959 during the Warsaw Autumn festival.

Recent Best Sellers: Krzysztof Penderecki