Skip to main content
Lan Shui

Lan Shui (Conductor)

Born: 1957, Hangzhou, China

Nationality: Chinese

Lan Shui is a Chinese-American conductor. He was the Music Director of the Singapore Symphony Orchestra from 1997 to 2019. He has retired as Music Director on 26 January 2019, and was given the title of Conductor Laureate by chairman of the SSO Mr Goh Yew Lin.

Born in Hangzhou, China, Shui is the son of a doctor and a banker. He began his musical studies on violin, but the Cultural Revolution interrupted his violin studies, and a subsequent football injury ended his dreams of becoming a violinist. At the Central Conservatory of Music in Beijing, he focused on conducting and composition, and worked regularly with the Beijing Symphony Orchestra.

Further Reading: Lan Shui

Interview, Beethoven Symphonies from Lan Shui and the Copenhagen Philharmonic

David talks to the Copenhagen Philharmonic's Uffe Savery about the orchestra's second volume of Beethoven symphonies under Lan Shui, which comprises Nos. 5, 6, 7 and 8.

Recent Best Sellers: Lan Shui