Skip to main content

Charles Avison (Composer)

Born: 16th February 1709, Newcastle upon Tyne, England

Died: 9th May 1770, Newcastle upon Tyne, England

Nationality: English

Charles Avison was an English composer during the Baroque and Classical periods. He was a church organist at St John The Baptist Church in Newcastle and at St. Nicholas's Church (later Newcastle Cathedral). He is most known for his 12 Concerti Grossi after Scarlatti and his Essay on Musical Expression, the first music criticism published in English. He composed in a transitional style that alternated between Baroque and Classical idioms.

All Works: Avison

Recent Best Sellers: Avison