Skip to main content

Egil Hovland (Composer)

Born: 18th October 1924, Mysen, Norway

Died: 5th February 2013, Fredrikstad, Norway

Nationality: Norwegian

Egil Hovland was a Norwegian composer.

Hovland was born in Råde. He studied at the Oslo conservatory with Arild Sandvold and Bjarne Brustad, in Copenhagen with Vagn Holmboe, at Tanglewood with Aaron Copland, and in Florence with Luigi Dallapiccola. He was the organist and choir leader in Fredrikstad from 1949 until his death. His many works include two symphonies, a concerto for trumpet and strings, Music for Ten Instruments, a set of variations for two pianos, and a lament for orchestra. His sacred works include a Norwegian Te Deum, a Gloria, a Magnificat, and numerous works for organ, and he was one of the most noted church composers of Norway.

All Works: Hovland

Recent Best Sellers: Hovland