Skip to main content

Luigi Boccherini (Composer)

Born: 19th February 1743, Lucca

Died: 28th May 1805, Madrid

Nationality: Italian

Ridolfo Luigi Boccherini was an Italian, later Spanish, composer and cellist of the Classical era whose music retained a courtly and galante style even while he matured somewhat apart from the major European musical centres. He is best known for a minuet from his String Quintet in E, Op. 11, No. 5 (G 275), and the Cello Concerto in B flat major (G 482). The latter work was long known in the heavily altered version by German cellist and prolific arranger Friedrich Grützmacher, but has recently been restored to its original version.

Popular Works: Boccherini

All Works: Boccherini

Recent Best Sellers: Boccherini

New Releases: Boccherini