Skip to main content

Alexander Sergeyevich Taneyev (Composer)

Born: 17th January 1850, Saint Petersburg, Russia

Died: 7th February 1918, Saint Petersburg, Russia

Nationality: Russian

Alexander Sergeyevich Taneyev was a Russian state official and composer of the late Romantic era, specifically of the nationalist school. Among his better-known works were three string quartets, believed to have been composed between 1898–1900.

Alexander Taneyev is not well known outside Russia. His name is often confused with that of his distant cousin Sergei Taneyev (1856–1915).

A member of Russian aristocracy, Taneyev was a high-ranking state official, serving for 22 years as the head of His Imperial Majesty's Own Chancellery.

All Genres: Taneyev, A