Skip to main content

Mikis Theodorakis (Composer)

Born: 29th July 1925, Chios, Greece

Nationality: Greek

Michail "Mikis" Theodorakis was a Greek composer and lyricist credited with over 1,000 works.

He scored for the films Zorba the Greek (1964), Z (1969), and Serpico (1973). He composed the "Mauthausen Trilogy", also known as "The Ballad of Mauthausen", which has been described as the "most beautiful musical work ever written about the Holocaust" and possibly his best work. Up until his death, he was viewed as Greece's best-known living composer. He was awarded the Lenin Peace Prize.

Politically, he was associated with the left because of his long-standing ties to the Communist Party of Greece (KKE). He was an MP for the KKE from 1981 to 1990.

All Genres: Theodorakis

All Works: Theodorakis

Recent Best Sellers: Theodorakis

New Releases: Theodorakis