Skip to main content

Toivo Kuula (Composer)

Born: 7th July 1883, Vaasa, Finland

Died: 18th May 1918, Vyborg, Russia

Nationality: Finnish

Toivo Timoteus Kuula was a Finnish composer and conductor of the late-Romantic and early-modern periods, who emerged in the wake of Jean Sibelius, under whom he studied privately from 1906 to 1908. The core of Kuula's oeuvre are his many works for voice and orchestra, in particular the Stabat mater (1914–18; completed by Madetoja), The Sea-Bathing Maidens (1910), Son of a Slave (1910), and The Maiden and the Boyar's Son (1912). In addition he also composed two Ostrobothnian Suites for orchestra and left an unfinished symphony at the time of his murder in 1918 in a pub quarrel.

All Genres: Kuula

Popular Works: Kuula

All Works: Kuula

Recent Best Sellers: Kuula