Skip to main content
Antonio Vivaldi

Antonio Vivaldi (Composer)

Born: 4th March 1678, Venice

Died: 28th July 1741, Vienna

Nationality: Italian

Antonio Lucio Vivaldi was an Italian Baroque composer, virtuoso violinist, teacher, impresario, and Roman Catholic priest. Born in Venice, the capital of the Venetian Republic, Vivaldi is regarded as one of the greatest Baroque composers, and his influence during his lifetime was widespread across Europe, being paramount in the development of Johann Sebastian Bach's instrumental music. He composed many instrumental concertos, for the violin and a variety of other musical instruments, as well as sacred choral works and more than fifty operas. His best-known work is a series of violin concertos known as the Four Seasons.

Many of his compositions were written for the all-female music ensemble of the Ospedale della Pietà, a home for abandoned children.

Popular Works: Vivaldi

All Works: Vivaldi

Recent Best Sellers: Vivaldi