Skip to main content

Gérard Hekking (Composer)

Born: 24th August 1879, Nancy, France

Died: 5th June 1942, Paris, France

Nationality: French

Gérard Hekking was a French cellist.

Born in Nancy, he served as first cellist of the Concertgebouw Orchestra from 1903 until 1914. In 1912 Alphons Diepenbrock composed his Berceuse (Le Seigneur a dit à son enfant) for him and his wife, a soprano. Among the works premiered by Hekking were Fauré's First and Second Cello Sonatas, in 1917 and 1921 respectively. Hekking composed some works, including Villageoise, Joujou mécanique, Danse pour les Sakharoff and Danse campagnarde, all for cello and piano.

From 1927 until his death Hekking taught cello at the Paris Conservatoire.

Recent Best Sellers: Hekking