Skip to main content

Haflidi Hallgrímsson (Composer)

Born: 18th September 1941, Akureyri, Iceland

Nationality: Icelandic

Hafliði Hallgrímsson is an Icelandic composer, current living in Bath, UK. Hafliði was the principal cellist of the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, but left that position in 1983 to pursue a full-time career as a composer. In 2008, he became composer-in-residence of the Iceland Symphony Orchestra (through 2010).

In 1970, Hafliði played the (uncredited) cello solo on “Atom Heart Mother” by Pink Floyd.

Recent Best Sellers: Hallgrímsson