Skip to main content

US deliveries: Unfortunately we are receiving reports that some US orders are taking longer than usual to arrive. Find out more >>

Latest update: Changes to international postage charges. Find out more

Mahler: Symphony No. 2 'Resurrection'

Heather Harper (soprano) & Helen Watts (contralto)

London Symphony Orchestra & Chorus, Sir Georg Solti

... the new Decca stereo recording has special points of excellence all its own. The most striking thing in the whole performance, for me, is the first movement, in which Solti penetrates to... More…



This item is currently out of stock at the UK distributor. You may order it now but please be aware that it may be six weeks or more before it can be despatched.

No digital booklet included


Mahler: Symphony No. 2 'Resurrection'

  • Helen Watts (contralto), Heather Harper (soprano)
  • London Symphony Orchestra, London Symphony Chorus
  • Sir Georg Solti
  • Recorded: 1966-05-21
  • Recording Venue: Kingsway Hall, London

1. Allegro maestoso. Mit durchaus ernstem und feierlichem Ausdruck


2. Andante moderato. Sehr gemächlich


3. Scherzo: In ruhig fliessender Bewegung


4. "O Röschen rot! Der Mensch liegt in grösster Not!" (Sehr feierlich aber schlicht) Text from Des Knaben Wunderhorn: "Urlicht"


5a-c. Im Tempo des Scherzos. Wild herausfahrend -


5d. "Aufersteh'n, ja aufersteh'n wirst du" (Langsam. Misterioso) - Text after F.G. Klopstock: "Auferstehung"

Return to main site
Time elapsed--:-- Time remaining--:--