Skip to main content

Hans Knappertsbusch (Conductor)

Born: 12th March 1888, Elberfeld

Died: 25th October 1965

Nationality: German

Hans Knappertsbusch was a German conductor, best known for his performances of the music of Wagner, Bruckner and Richard Strauss.

Knappertsbusch followed the traditional route for an aspiring conductor in Germany in the early 20th century, starting as a musical assistant and progressing to increasingly senior conducting posts. In 1922, at the age of 34, he was appointed general music director of the Bavarian State Opera, holding that post for eleven years. In 1936 the Nazi régime dismissed him. As a freelance he was a frequent guest conductor in Vienna and Bayreuth, where his performances of Parsifal became celebrated.

Recent Best Sellers: Hans Knappertsbusch

  • Hans Knappertsbusch - The Opera Edition
    19 CDs: Original price ($65.25) Reduced price $58.75
  • Hans Knappertsbusch - The Orchestral Edition
    18 CDs: Original price ($64.75) Reduced price $58.25
  • Edition Hans Knappertsbusch & Berliner Philharmoniker
    5 CDs: Original price ($41.00) Reduced price $28.75
    Download from $50.00
  • Bruckner: Symphony No. 7 in E Major
    CD: $13.00
    Download from $10.00
  • Wagner: Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg
    4 CDs: Original price ($20.00) Reduced price $14.00
  • George London sings Wagner
    CD: Original price ($11.00) Reduced price $8.25
  • New Releases: Hans Knappertsbusch