Skip to main content
Sir Charles Groves

Sir Charles Groves (Conductor)

Born: 10th March 1915, London

Died: 20th June 1992, London

Nationality: British

The Symphony No. 104 in D major is Joseph Haydn's final symphony. It is the last of the twelve London symphonies, and is known (somewhat arbitrarily, given the existence of eleven others) as the London Symphony. In Germany it is commonly known as the Salomon Symphony after Johann Peter Salomon, who arranged Haydn's two tours of London, even though it is one of three of the last twelve symphonies written for Viotti's Opera Concerts, rather than for Salomon.

The work was composed in 1795 while Haydn was living in London, and premiered there at the King's Theatre on 4 May 1795, in a concert featuring exclusively Haydn's own compositions and directed by the composer.

Recent Best Sellers: Sir Charles Groves