Skip to main content

Matthäus Waissel (Composer)

Born: c. 1540, Bartenstein, East Prussia

Died: 1602, ? Königsberg, Prussia

Nationality: German

Matthäus Waissel was a German lutenist, editor of music, and writer. Waissel was from 1573 headmaster of a school at Schippenbeil near Königsberg; he published in that year a volume of lute arrangements of vocal pieces, and in 1592 he issued a collection of German dances for lute, which signaled the decline of German lute tablature as it yielded prominence to the so-called French system. Waissel's output comprises three books of solo lute music in all, and one collection of duets. It is unlikely though that any of the pieces in these collections are his own compositions.

Recent Best Sellers: Waissel