Skip to main content

Roger Steptoe (Composer)

Born: 1953, England

Nationality: English

Roger Steptoe is an English composer and pianist. He studied music at the University of Reading as an undergraduate and then at the Royal Academy of Music, London, from 1974 to 1977 as a post-graduate student. There he studied composition with Alan Bush and piano accompaniment with Geoffrey Pratley.

His String Quartet No. 1 (1976) and the opera King of Macedon (1978–79, to a libretto by Ursula Vaughan Williams, based on a stage play by Charterhouse school pupil 1973-77 Charles Jockelson) were composed during his time as composer in residence at Charterhouse School from 1976 to 1979. Between 1980 and 1991 he was professor of composition at the Royal Academy of Music.

All Genres: Steptoe

Recent Best Sellers: Steptoe