Skip to main content

Einojuhani Rautavaara (Composer)

Born: 9th October 1928, Helsinki, Finland

Died: 27th July 2016, Helsinki, Finland

Nationality: Finnish

Einojuhani Rautavaara was a Finnish composer of classical music. Among the most notable Finnish composers since Jean Sibelius (1865–1957), Rautavaara wrote a great number of works spanning various styles. These include eight symphonies, nine operas and twelve concertos, as well as numerous vocal and chamber works. Having written early works using 12-tone serial techniques, his later music may be described as neo-romantic and mystical. His major works include his first piano concerto (1969), Cantus Arcticus (1972) and his seventh symphony, Angel of Light (1994).

Further Reading: Rautavaara

Obituary, Einojuhani Rautavaara (1928-2016)

The Finnish composer has died aged 87.

Popular Works: Rautavaara

All Works: Rautavaara

Recent Best Sellers: Rautavaara