Skip to main content

Rudolf Wagner-Regeny (Composer)

Born: 28th August 1903, Reghin, Romania

Died: 18th September 1969, Berlin, Germany

Nationality: German

Rudolf Wagner-Régeny was a composer, conductor, and pianist. Born in Transylvania, Kingdom of Hungary, since 1920 Romania, he became a German citizen in 1930, and then East German after 1945.

From 1919 to 1920 he studied at the Leipzig Conservatory. In 1920 he enrolled at the Berlin Hochschule für Musik as a student of Rudolf Krasselt and Siegfried Ochs for conducting, and for orchestration of Emil von Řezníček, and with Friedrich Koch and Franz Schreker for musical composition, graduating in 1923. He served as choirsmaster at the Volksoper Berlin from 1923–1925.

Return to main site
Time elapsed--:-- Time remaining--:--