Skip to main content
Erika Köth

Erika Köth (Soprano)

Born: 15th September 1925, Darmstadt

Died: 20th February 1989, Speyer

Nationality: German

Erika Köth was a German operatic high coloratura soprano, particularly associated with the roles of Zerbinetta and Zerlina.

Köth began a musical studies in Darmstadt with Elsa Blank in 1942, and after an interruption resumed them in 1945. She made her stage debut in Kaiserslautern as Philine in Mignon, in 1948, and then sang in Karlsruhe (1950–53). She made her debut at the Munich State Opera and the Vienna State Opera in 1953, and at the Berlin State Opera in 1961. She appeared regularly at the Salzburg Festival (1955–64), as the Queen of the Night and Konstanze and Sophie, and in Bayreuth (1965–68), as the Woodbird.

Recent Best Sellers: Erika Köth

  • Lortzing: Zar und Zimmermann
    2 CDs: $18.50
    Download from $15.00
  • 50 Best Operetta
    3 CDs: $10.00
    Download from $19.00
  • Verdi: Un ballo in maschera
    2 CDs: $13.75
  • Richard Strauss: Les Grands Operas
    Download from $19.00
  • Korngold: Die Tote Stadt, Op. 12
    2 CDs: $13.25
    Download from $20.00
  • Strauss, J, II: Der Zigeunerbaron
    2 CDs: $14.50
  • New Releases: Erika Köth