Skip to main content

Jan-Hendrik Rootering (Bass)

Born: 18th March 1950, Germany

Nationality: German

Jan-Hendrik Rootering is a German-born operatic bass, son of the Dutch tenor Hendrikus Rootering from whom he had his first lessons. After further study at Hamburg's Musikhochschule he began singing minor roles with the Staatsoper Hamburg and made a debut at the Bayerischen Staatsoper München in 1982 as the Spirit Messenger in Die Frau ohne Schatten. In 1987 he received the title of Bayerischer Kammersänger. Mr. Rootering was the bass soloist in the Beethoven Ninth Symphony conducted by Leonard Bernstein in celebration of the fall of the Berlin wall -- in the no-longer-divided city of Berlin -- at Christmastime 1989.

Recent Best Sellers: Jan-Hendrik Rootering

  • Mahler: Complete Symphonies
    Download from $60.00
  • Bruch: Die Loreley
    3 CDs: Original price ($28.75) Reduced price $23.00
    Download from Original price ($30.00) Reduced price $21.00
  • Shostakovich: The Symphonies
    10 SACDs: $78.25
    Download from $80.00
  • Gluck: Les Pèlerins de la Mecque
    2 CDs: $28.75
    Download from $20.00
  • Dvorak: Sacred Works & Cantatas
    8 CDs: $47.50
  • Verdi: Luisa Miller
    2 CDs: $15.25
    Download from $11.00