Skip to main content

Philip Jones Brass Ensemble (Brass Ensemble)

Formed: 1951

Artist's website:

The Philip Jones Brass Ensemble, founded in 1951 by trumpeter Philip Jones, was one of the first modern classical brass ensembles to be formed. The group played either as a quintet or as a ten-piece, for larger halls. It toured and recorded extensively, and numerous arrangements were commissioned, many of which were bequeathed on Jones' death to the library of the Royal Northern College of Music.

The ensemble recorded Leonard Salzedo's signature fanfare for the Open University's television transmissions.

Following Philip Jones' retirement in 1986, a number of the members of his group continued, changing their name to London Brass.

Recent Best Sellers: Philip Jones Brass Ensemble

  • 100 Best Carols
    6 CDs: Original price ($17.50) Reduced price $11.25
  • 100 Best Hymns
    6 CDs: Original price ($17.50) Reduced price $11.25
  • HM Queen Elizabeth II - The Commemorative Album
    2 CDs: $16.00
    Download from $16.75
  • 100 Christmas Masterworks
    5 CDs: $9.00
  • Monteverdi: Vespers
    2 CDs: $13.25
    Download from $10.00
  • New Releases: Philip Jones Brass Ensemble