Skip to main content

Borodin Quartet (String Quartet)

Artist's website:

The Borodin Quartet is a string quartet that was founded in 1945 in the then Soviet Union. It is one of the world's longest-lasting string quartets, having marked its 70th-anniversary season in 2015.

The quartet was one of the Soviet Union's best known in the West during the Cold War era, through recordings as well as concert performances in the United States and Europe.

The quartet had a close relationship with composer Dmitri Shostakovich, who personally consulted them on each of his quartets. They also performed with the pianist Sviatoslav Richter on many occasions. They have recorded all of Shostakovich's string quartets as well as all of Beethoven's quartets.

Recent Best Sellers: Borodin Quartet

  • Shostakovich: String Quartets Nos. 1-13
    4 CDs: Original price ($20.00) Reduced price $16.00
  • Sviatoslav Richter plays Rakhmaninov & Prokofiev
    11 CDs: Original price ($56.75) Reduced price $37.00
    Download from $77.00
  • Beethoven: String Quartets Nos. 1-16 (complete, inc. Grosse Fuge)
    8 CDs: Original price ($48.25) Reduced price $38.75
    Download from $16.25
  • Brahms: Piano Quartet No. 2
    Presto CD: $16.00
    Download from $8.25